Friday, April 4, 2008


Band: Mütiilation
Formed In: 1991
Genre: Black Metal (Raw early)
Country of Origin: France

Album: Vampires of Black Imperial Blood
Year: 1995

Track Listing:
  1. Magical Shadows of a Tragic Past
  2. Born Under the Master's Spell
  3. Ravens of My Funeral
  4. Black Imperial Blood
  5. Eternal Empire of Majesty Death
  6. Transylvania
  7. Under Ardailles Night
  8. Tears of a Melancholic Vampire

Album: Remains of a Ruined, Dead, Cursed Soul
Year: 1999

  1. Suffer the Gestalt
  2. To the Memory of the Dark Countess
  3. Possessed and Immortal
  4. Through the Funeral Maelstrom of Evil
  5. Travels to Sadness, Hate & Depression
  6. The Fear That Freeze
  7. Holocaust in Mourning Dawn

Mütiilation are a Black Metal legend. One of the pioneering bands of French Black Metal and a member of the legendy Les Legions Noires (LLN or "The Black Legions") circle, they were to be the only LLN band to release a full length album, and thankfully, Meyhna'ch decided they should continue down that path and make more. They started out playing incredibly raw, melancholic Black Metal. These, Mütiilation's first two albums, are a perfect example of raw Black Metal. The guitar tone is a harsh, sharp fuzz while still being comprehensible, the atmosphere is incredible, the vocals are impassioned and totally impossible to understand and the music is incredibly melancholy, dark and full of rage. The title of the song "Travels to Sadness, Hate & Depression" describes these albums perfectly. Highly suggested Black Metal classics.

No comments: