Saturday, March 15, 2008

Vreid - I Krig

Band: Vreid
Album: I Krig
Genre: Black Metal
Country of Origin: Norway
Year: 2007

Track Listing:
  1. Jarnbyrd
  2. Under Isen
  3. I Krig
  4. Væpna Lengsel
  5. Svart
  6. Folkefiendar
  7. Dei Daude Steig Av Grav
  8. Fangegard
  9. Millom Hav Og Fjell
Vreid are one of the two bands (Cor Scorpii as well) that rose up from the ashes of Windir after Valfar's tragic death. They play very modern sounding Black Metal that, instead of sounding contrived and shallow, actually sounds excellent. The music is compelling and is interspersed with occassional violin parts or Thrashiness and overall feels varied in approach and structure. It doesn't sound like Windir most of the time, but the quality of the music is certainly worthy of the "post-Windir" tag. Another interesting thing that should be mentioned, "I krig" means "at war" and the album is about the Nazi invasion of Norway during WWII. Wonderful stuff, regardless.

No comments: